New Zealand elects to bowl in 4th T20 against Pakistan; captain Shaheen Afridi emphasizes world cup preparation.

In the 4th T20 series match today (Friday), New Zealand has won the toss and chosen to bowl against Pakistan. Pakistani skipper Shaheen Afridi expressed the team’s focus on preparing for the upcoming World Cup, emphasizing the need for the right combination. Despite the current series results not favoring Pakistan, Afridi stated that the players are putting in their best efforts, acknowledging the room for improvement.

He mentioned, “We need improvement, and after concluding this series, efforts will be made for improvement.”

In a change for today’s match, Sahibzada Farhan replaces wicketkeeper-batsman Azam Khan in the Pakistan side. New Zealand has already secured an unassailable 3-0 lead in the five-match series, marking the beginning of Shaheen Afridi’s tenure as Pakistan’s T20 captain. The Pakistani team is determined to secure victory in today’s event.

However, New Zealand opener Devon Conway has been ruled out of the fourth T20 International after testing positive for COVID-19. Conway has been in isolation, and Canterbury Kings batter Chad Bowes will join the squad as cover. Additionally, bowling coach Andre Adams has also tested positive for COVID.

The Pakistan XI for the fourth T20I includes M. Rizwan (wk), Saim Ayub, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Iftikhar Ahmed, M. Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi (c), M. Wasim, Haris Rauf, and Zaman Khan. Meanwhile, the New Zealand XI comprises Finn Allen, Tim Seifert (wk), Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Philipps, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner (c), Adam Milne, Matthew Henry, Tim Southee, and Lockie Ferguson.