Karachi Kings Triumph over Lahore Qalandars in PSL 9 Thriller

In a thrilling encounter in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9, Karachi Kings emerged victorious over Lahore Qalandars by two wickets after a sensational match at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Lahore Qalandars set a target of 176 runs, but Karachi Kings chased it down with eight wickets lost on the final ball.

Karachi Kings won the toss and elected to field first, inviting Lahore Qalandars to bat. Fakhar Zaman failed to shine once again, scoring just 6 runs before being dismissed by Osama Mir. Despite Fahad Zaman and Rassie van der Dussen’s efforts to push the score ahead, van der Dussen fell for 26 runs with Lahore Qalandars at 45 runs.

However, Fakhar Zaman continued to lead the scoring, reaching 72 runs off 45 deliveries, guiding his team to a respectable total. George Linde remained unbeaten on 26 runs. Karachi Kings’ Mir Hamza, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Hasan Ali took two wickets each.

Karachi Kings’ chase didn’t start well, with their initial four players departing for just 44 runs. Captain Shaan Masood contributed 10 runs, while Muhammad Akhlaq, James Vince, and Mohammad Nawaz scored 7, 8, and 15 runs respectively. At the fifth wicket, experienced T20 players Shoaib Malik and Kieron Pollard rescued Karachi Kings from a precarious position.

Pollard played a blazing inning of 58 runs off 33 deliveries, while Shoaib Malik supported with 39 runs off 32 deliveries. Both were dismissed at 143 runs, but Daniel Sams, Hasan Ali, and Irfan Khan contributed crucial runs to level the score. In the end, Mir Hamza scored the winning run, securing victory for Karachi Kings.

For Lahore Qalandars, Shaheen Afridi and Hassan Hafeez took two wickets each, while Haris Rauf, Jahanad Khan, and Shahin Afridi claimed one wicket each.

The match highlighted Lahore Qalandars’ struggles in PSL 9, as they remained winless after four matches. Karachi Kings, led by Shaan Masood, showcased a strong performance with contributions from players like Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard, and Hasan Ali.