Opening match of Asia Cup 2023: Pakistan chooses to bat first against Nepal.

In the inaugural match of the 2023 Asia Cup, Pakistan emerged victorious in the coin toss and opted to take the batting stance against Nepal. This momentous event unfolds at Multan Cricket Stadium, marking Pakistan’s role as host for the regional cricket tournament, a responsibility it has undertaken after a hiatus of 15 years.

Nepal and Multan are both stepping onto the grand stage of the Asia Cup for the very first time, making their debut appearances in this prestigious cricket tournament. The clash between these two newcomers adds an extra layer of excitement to the event.

Meanwhile, Pakistan enters the Asia Cup riding a wave of confidence, having ascended to the summit of the ICC rankings for ODI teams. This remarkable achievement comes in the wake of a convincing 3-0 clean sweep over Afghanistan in Sri Lanka. Remarkably, this is the second time Pakistan has claimed the top spot since April, underlining their current form and dominance in the format.

“We have opted to bat first as the pitch appears to be quite dry and with a glossy sheen. We refrained from announcing our XI in advance to instill confidence in our team. To be candid, being the top-ranked team carries a unique kind of pressure, but we aim to savor the moment and give our best,” expressed Pakistan’s captain, Babar Azam, during the toss.



  1. Kushal Bhurtel
  2. Aasif Sheikh (wk)
  3. Rohit Paudel (c)
  4. Aarif Sheikh
  5. Kushal Malla
  6. Dipendra Singh Airee
  7. Gulsan Jha
  8. Sompal Kami
  9. Karan KC
  10. Sandeep Lamichhane
  11. Lalit Rajbanshi


  1. Fakhar Zaman
  2. Imam-ul-Haq
  3. Babar Azam (c)
  4. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  5. Agha Salman
  6. Iftikhar Ahmed
  7. Shadab Khan
  8. Mohammad Nawaz
  9. Shaheen Afridi
  10. Naseem Shah
  11. Haris Rauf