Sophie molineux returns to Australia’s test squad after three years for South Africa clash.

Australia’s Test squad to face South Africa at the WACA in Perth from February 15 features the return of bowling all-rounder Sophie Molineux, last seen in the national team in 2021. Molineux’s comeback comes after an impressive stint in domestic cricket, leading the Australian Governor General’s XI to victory against the touring South Africans in a T20 in late January.

Overcoming an ACL injury that kept her out for more than a year, Molineux currently leads the wicket-takers list in the Australian 50-over domestic competition, boasting 17 wickets at an average of 14.47.

Molineux is the sole addition from the Test squad that traveled to India in December, as Lauren Cheatle sits out due to a recent skin cancer removal from her neck, and Heather Graham is omitted.

Shawn Flegler, Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, praises Molineux’s resilience and hard work during her injury recovery. He states, “Sophie has put in a huge amount of work off-field over the past 12 months, and her performances in the WNCL and for the Governor-General’s XI since returning from an ACL injury have been impressive.”

Describing Molineux as a multi-skilled cricketer with strong leadership qualities, Flegler emphasizes her inclusion as a fantastic reward for perseverance. The Test match marks the first women’s Test between Australia and South Africa, with the Proteas last playing in red-ball cricket in 2022 against England.

South Africa’s 14-member squad features six players earning their maiden call-up in the format. The squads are as follows:

Australia squad:

  • Alyssa Healy (C)
  • Darcie Brown
  • Ashleigh Gardner
  • Kim Garth
  • Jess Jonassen
  • Alana King
  • Phoebe Litchfield
  • Tahlia McGrath
  • Sophie Molineux
  • Beth Mooney
  • Ellyse Perry
  • Megan Schutt
  • Annabel Sutherland
  • Georgia Wareham

South Africa squad:

  • Laura Wolvaardt
  • Anneke Bosch
  • Tazmin Brits
  • Nadine de Klerk
  • Mieke de Ridder
  • Ayanda Hlubi
  • Sinalo Jafta
  • Marizanne Kapp
  • Masabata Klaas
  • Suné Luus
  • Eliz-Mari Marx
  • Nonkululeko Mlaba
  • Chloé Tryon
  • Delmi Tucker