Najmul Hossain Shanto Named captain for Bangladesh’s ODIs and T20Is against New Zealand.

In a recent announcement, Bangladesh has appointed batsman Najmul Hossain Shanto as the captain for both the One Day Internationals (ODIs) and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) during the upcoming tour of New Zealand. The tour is scheduled to take place from December 17 to December 31 and will include three ODIs and three T20Is.

Najmul, who is currently leading Bangladesh’s Test side in a home series against New Zealand, will take on the new roles in the absence of regular limited-over captain Shakib Al Hasan. Shakib is not available for the series as he has ventured into politics, contesting the upcoming general election on January 7 as a candidate for the ruling Awami League.

The responsibility of deputy captain for the white-ball tour of New Zealand has been entrusted to all-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz. Additionally, batsman Liton Das makes a return to the squad for the New Zealand ODIs, and the squad also features the inclusion of uncapped left-arm spinner Rakibul Hasan.

The Bangladesh ODI squad includes Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Tanzid Hasan, Anamul Haque, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, and Rakibul Hasan.

Meanwhile, the Bangladesh T20 squad comprises Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Liton Das, Rony Talukdar, Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Tanvir Islam, and Tanzim Hasan.