David warner returns home, Aaron Hardie steps in for Australia’s T20I series against India.

Australia’s T20I series against India faces a setback as veteran opener David Warner, instrumental in their recent World Cup triumph, opts to return home, citing the demanding nature of the tournament. Emerging all-rounder Aaron Hardie will fill Warner’s place, while Matthew Wade takes on the captaincy in the absence of Pat Cummins.

Warner played a crucial role in Australia’s World Cup victory, scoring 535 runs with an average of 48.63. The team’s selectors decided on his early departure for rest and recovery.

The T20 squad includes seven members from the World Cup-winning team, with Sean Abbott, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, and Adam Zampa continuing their campaign in India. The five-game T20 series begins on November 23 in Vishakhapatnam.

Australia T20 Squad:

  • Matthew Wade (c)
  • Aaron Hardie
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Sean Abbott
  • Tim David
  • Nathan Ellis
  • Travis Head
  • Josh Inglis
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Tanveer Sangha
  • Matt Short
  • Steve Smith
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Kane Richardson
  • Adam Zampa

Series Schedule:

  • First T20I: November 23, Vishakhapatnam
  • Second T20I: November 26, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Third T20I: November 28, Guwahati
  • Fourth T20I: December 1, Raipur
  • Fifth T20I: December 3, Bengaluru