Islamabad United’s Shadab Khan Appointed as Captain for HBL PSL 9; Squad Composition and Selection Process

Islamabad United’s dynamic all-rounder, Shadab Khan, has been appointed as the captain of the selected team for the 9th edition of the HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL). The team composition includes 5 players from Multan Sultans, 3 from Islamabad United, 2 from Peshawar Zalmi, and 1 from Karachi Kings.

The selection of the PSL team was carried out through a panel headed by Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) Director of International Cricket, Osman Wahla, while the independent members of the panel included commentators Danny Morrison, Mark Butcher, Arooj Mumtaz, and Tariq Saeed.

During the selection process, the independent panel deliberated on various aspects of T20 cricket, including temperament, team dynamics, and the best possible team combination. Emphasis was placed on selecting a balanced team capable of competing at the highest level in the tournament.

Under the captaincy of 25-year-old Shadab Khan, Islamabad United clinched their third title in the HBL PSL. Shadab’s stellar all-round performance throughout the tournament earned him the title of the best player, with 305 runs and 14 wickets in 12 matches.

In addition to Shadab Khan’s leadership, Islamabad United’s squad also includes two other key players, Imad Wasim and Nasim Shah. Imad Wasim played a crucial role in United’s victory, contributing significantly with both bat and ball, while Nasim Shah’s return from injury bolstered the team’s bowling attack.

The inclusion of players from Multan Sultans reflects their consistent performance in the tournament, with three overseas players and five local players making it to the playing XI. Among them, Usman Khan emerged as the top performer, scoring 430 runs at a strike rate of 164.12 and taking 6 wickets with an economy rate of 8.42.

Local players from Multan Sultans, including Osama Mir and Iftikhar Ahmed, have also been included in the team. Osama Mir leads the bowling chart with 24 wickets in 12 matches, while Iftikhar Ahmed showcased his batting prowess by scoring 259 runs in the tournament.

Karachi Kings’ emerging category player, Ifran Khan, has also been included in the squad. He impressed with his batting performance, scoring 171 runs at a strike rate of 140.16 and taking 8 catches during the tournament.

Peshawar Zalmi’s opening duo, Babar Azam and Saimee Yousuf, have secured their places in the team as well. Babar Azam topped the batting chart with 569 runs at an average of 56.9 and a strike rate of 142.6, while Saimee Yousuf contributed with 345 runs and 8 wickets in 11 matches.

The inclusion of these talented players in the PSL team highlights the depth and diversity of talent in Pakistani cricket. With a balanced squad and strong leadership, the team aims to continue its success in the upcoming edition of the HBL PSL.