PML-N Directs Senior Party Leadership to Vacate Provincial Assembly Seats Except Maryam Nawaz

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has issued directives for senior party leaders to vacate their provincial assembly seats, with the exception of Maryam Nawaz, who is nominated for the position of Chief Minister of Punjab.

According to sources within the PML-N, Shehbaz Sharif will vacate seats in Kasur and Lahore provincial assemblies, while Hamza Shehbaz will relinquish his seat in the Lahore provincial assembly.

It has been reported that Sardar Ghulam Abbas Chakwal will vacate his provincial assembly seat, while Rana Tanveer from Sheikhupura will step down from his position as well.

Additionally, the Secretary General of PML-N, Ahsan Iqbal, will vacate his provincial assembly seat in Narowal, Sardar Awais Leghari will step down from his seat in Dera Ghazi Khan, and Jam Kamal from Lasbela will also relinquish his provincial assembly seat.

It is noteworthy that the Punjab Assembly session scheduled for today will witness the oath-taking of newly elected members, while no such session has been convened for the Balochistan Assembly as of yet.

The decision by the PML-N to vacate provincial assembly seats, except for Maryam Nawaz, signals a strategic move to consolidate power and focus on key leadership positions within the party. This move underscores the party’s commitment to reorganizing its leadership structure and preparing for future political challenges.