Mixed Results for PTI-backed Independent Candidates in Peshawar Elections

In the recent elections in Peshawar, PTI-backed independent candidates faced a mixed outcome, experiencing defeats on most seats compared to previous contests.

Out of the 18 seats in the National and Provincial Assemblies of Peshawar, PTI-supported independent candidates managed to secure victories on only 9 seats.

While PTI-backed candidates won 4 out of 5 seats in the National Assembly, they only managed to clinch 5 out of 13 seats in the Provincial Assembly.

Notably, prominent figures like Timur Saleem Jhagra, Kamran Bangash, and former Deputy Speaker Mahmood Jan failed to secure victories in their constituencies. Of the remaining 8 seats, 2 each were won by candidates of PML-N and PPP, while ANP, PTI parliamentarians, and JUI-F candidates secured one seat each. One seat was also won by an independent candidate.

It is worth mentioning that in the 2024 general elections, independent candidates made history by securing 91 seats in the provincial assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Independent candidates have managed to cleanse various districts of the province from different political parties, including JUI-F and ANP.

While PTI-backed independent candidates secured victories on a majority of general seats, they faced setbacks on most seats in both the National and Provincial Assemblies of Peshawar.

Overall, out of the 115 seats in the Provincial Assembly, elections were held for 113 seats, out of which independent candidates emerged victorious on 91 seats.

PTI-backed candidates secured the most victories on general seats, followed by JUI-F with 7 seats, PML-N with 5, PPP with 4, Jamaat-e-Islami with 3, PTI parliamentarians with 2, and ANP with 1 seat.