Lahore and Karachi secure final spots in national women’s T20 tournament 2023-24.

Lahore and Karachi have clinched their spots in the final of the National Women’s T20 Tournament 2023-24, claiming the top two positions on the points table after ten rounds of intense matches. Unfortunately, Rawalpindi missed out on qualification, falling short on net run rate (NRR) compared to Lahore despite having the same number of wins.

The highly anticipated final is scheduled to take place on January 31 at Pindi Cricket Stadium and will be broadcasted live on PCB’s YouTube channel. The action is set to kick off with the first ball bowled at 1100 PKT, following the toss at 1030 PKT.

In the last round of the National Women’s T20 Tournament, Lahore, Rawalpindi, and Karachi emerged as the top-performing teams after six intense matches played across three venues in Islamabad and Rawalpindi.

Match Summaries:

1. Quetta vs. Rawalpindi at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium:

  • Rawalpindi won the toss and opted to bowl.
  • Quetta set a target of 84-8 in 20 overs.
  • Rawalpindi chased down the target with ease, securing victory by nine wickets.
  • Captain Aliya Riaz’s unbeaten knock of 58 off 18 balls was the highlight.
  • Rawalpindi finished at 86-1 in just 5.3 overs.

2. Multan vs. Karachi at Ayub Park Ground:

  • Multan posted 114-5 in 20 overs.
  • Karachi, in response, scored 100-5 in 15 overs, winning by 20 runs as per DLS calculations due to rain interruption.
  • Gull Feroza’s impressive half-century for Multan was not enough to secure victory for her team.
  • Karachi secured their spot in the final after finishing second on the points table.

3. Peshawar vs. Lahore at Diamond Cricket Ground:

  • Peshawar, opting to bat first, managed only 50 runs in 16.4 overs.
  • Lahore’s Nashra Sundhu starred with a five-wicket haul, restricting Peshawar to a low total.
  • Lahore effortlessly chased down the target in eight overs, winning the game by 10 wickets.
  • Sidra Amin’s unbeaten 41 and Nashra Sundhu’s outstanding bowling performance were the highlights.

With Lahore finishing at the top of the table, undefeated in all ten rounds of matches, and Karachi securing their place in the final, the stage is set for an exciting conclusion to the National Women’s T20 Tournament on January 31.