Election commission of Pakistan takes action against officer for unauthorized changes in election symbol.

In a recent development, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has removed the Returning Officer/Additional Deputy Commissioner (General) from his position in NA-44, Dera Ismail Khan, citing “misuse” of authority and “inappropriate” alterations to an election symbol in favor of a particular candidate.

An official statement from the ECP confirmed reports of favoritism and unauthorized changes to a candidate’s electoral symbol, prompting the commission to take swift action. The ECP has appointed Syed Gulfam Abbas Shah, Additional Deputy Commissioner (F&P) of Dera Ismail Khan, as the replacement.

The commission has directed the Chief Secretary of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to suspend the dismissed officer and report the incident to the Establishment Division. Additionally, a three-member inquiry committee, led by the Provincial Election Commissioner of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, has been constituted to thoroughly investigate the actions of the Returning Officer. The committee is expected to submit its report within six days.

Focus on Minority Candidates:

Simultaneously, the ECP has released the final compilation of minority seats in the National Assembly. The list includes candidates from various political parties, with 10 representing the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), five from the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F), two from the Tehreek-e-Labbaik (TLP), seven from the People’s Party (PPP), four from the Jamaat-e-Islami, and three from the Mutahidda Quomi Movement (MQM).