Pakistan gains early momentum as New Zealand loses key wickets in T20I opener at eden park.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson contributed significantly with a commendable score of 57 runs, featuring nine fours. However, the team suffered setbacks with the departure of Finn Allen, who scored a quick 34 runs off 15 balls, inclusive of three fours and an equal number of sixes. Wicketkeeper Devon Conway faced an early exit, failing to open his account, courtesy of Shaheen Afridi’s dismissal with the assistance of Saim Ayub.

Shaheen Shah Afridi, leading Pakistan for the first time as captain, won the toss and elected to bowl first. This decision has proven effective with early breakthroughs in the New Zealand batting lineup.

Playing XI:


  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Saim Ayub
  • Babar Azam
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Azam Khan (wk)
  • Aamir Jamal
  • Usama Mir (Debut)
  • Shaheen Afridi (c)
  • Abbas Afridi (Debut)
  • Haris Rauf

New Zealand:

  • Finn Allen
  • Devon Conway (wk)
  • Kane Williamson (c)
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Mark Chapman
  • Adam Milne
  • Matthew Henry
  • Tim Southee
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Ben Sears

As the match unfolds, the T20I clash promises an exciting contest between these two cricketing nations.