Political Developments in Lahore: PML(N) Approves Election Tickets, Leaves Seats Uncontested for PPP and (Q) League

In a significant political move, the Pakistan Muslim League (N) has given its approval for election tickets in Lahore, leaving certain constituencies uncontested for the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and the (Q) League.

According to sources, in Punjab, the PPP may receive seven national and eleven provincial assembly seats, while the PML(N) has left two national and two provincial assembly seats vacant for the (Q) League. Apart from Lahore, PML(N) has left five constituencies in Punjab uncontested for the PPP.

Jahangir Tareen, the head of the PPP, is expected to contest elections from NA-155 Lodhran, while NA-149 Multan and NA-143 Sahiwal tickets are designated for Jahangir Tareen and Nauman Langrial, respectively. Engineer Ghulam Asghar will contest from NA-88 Khushab, and Ghulam Sarwar Khan from NA-54 Rawalpindi.

For Islamabad’s constituencies, Aamir Kiani is set to be fielded from NA-47, and for Lahore’s NA-117, Aleem Khan is being considered. Additionally, Ali Khan is a potential candidate for NA-128 Lahore, and Owais Chaudhry for NA-128.

The sources indicate that for the (Q) League, NA-64 and PP-32 have been left unopposed, while PP-31 Gujar Khan has been left for Shafqat Hussain, the son of Chaudhry Shujaat. Tariq Bashir Cheema may contest from NA-165 Bahawalpur.

According to the sources, NA-165 may see Saud Majid as the PML(N) candidate, and in case he doesn’t get the ticket, he might be considered for the Senate. Saud Majid’s nephew, Saad Masood, has been given the ticket for PP-248.

The sources suggest ongoing discussions between the (Q) League and (N) League regarding seat adjustment, with an announcement expected in the next two days. The situation underscores the complex dynamics of political negotiations and alliances as parties strategize for the upcoming elections.