Mexico’s copa america squad shifts focus to youth and development.

Mexico’s national team coach, Jaime Lozano, announced a significant change in direction for the upcoming Copa America, opting to exclude veteran regulars goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa and forward Hirving Lozano. Instead, Lozano has included 10 players from the under-23 national team in his preliminary 31-man squad, signaling a strategic move towards developing young talent in preparation for the 2026 World Cup, which will be jointly hosted by Mexico, the United States, and Canada.

“We want a dynamic and strong team. It is important to lay the foundations for 2026 and 2030,” stated Lozano during a news conference. “If we want the national team to be as competitive as possible for the upcoming World Cups and deliver optimal performances, we must make decisions that align with the significant challenges ahead.”

This marks the first time Ochoa, who boasts an impressive record of five World Cup appearances and 151 caps for Mexico, has been omitted from the squad since Lozano took charge as manager last summer. Hirving Lozano, currently with PSV Eindhoven, expressed his support for the newcomers via his social media account, acknowledging the honor and responsibility of representing the national team jersey.

Coach Lozano plans to trim the roster to 23 players for the Copa America tournament in the United States, where Mexico will kick off their campaign against Jamaica on June 22, followed by matches against Venezuela and Ecuador. Ahead of the tournament, Mexico will engage in warm-up matches against Bolivia, Uruguay, and Brazil.

The preliminary squad includes a mix of promising young talents and experienced players from various clubs, emphasizing the coach’s commitment to fostering a new generation of Mexican football stars. With a focus on youth and development, Mexico aims to make a strong impression in the Copa America while building a solid foundation for future international competitions.

Here’s the preliminary squad:

  • Goalkeepers: Angel Malagon, Raul Rangel, Julio Gonzalez
  • Defenders: Israel Reyes, Jorge Sanchez, Brian Garcia, Cesar Montes, Victor Guzman, Alexis Pena, Johan Vasquez, Jesus Orozco, Gerardo Arteaga, Bryan Gonzalez
  • Midfielders: Edson Alvarez, Luis Romo, Jordan Carrillo, Erick Sanchez, Orbelin Pineda, Roberto Alvarado, Luis Chavez, Andres Montano, Fernando Beltran, Carlos Rodriguez
  • Forwards: Marcelo Flores, Cesar Huerta, Julian Quinones, Santiago Gimenez, Alexis Vega, Uriel Antuna, Guillermo Martinez, Diego Lainez