Pakistan Cricket Team Announced for Tour of Ireland and England

During a press conference, the national selectors including Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Yousuf, Abdul Razzaq, and Bilal Afzal announced the Pakistan cricket team for the upcoming tour of Ireland and England.

The selected squad comprises Babar Azam, Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abbas Afridi, Muhammad Amir, Muhammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan Niazi, Naseem Shah, Saeem Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usman Khan. Hasan Ali and Salman Ali Agha have been reinstated in the 18-man squad, along with fast bowler Haris Rauf. However, spinner Osama Mir, who was part of the 17-man squad for the recent home series against New Zealand, and fast bowler Zaman Khan did not make it to the national squad.

Wahab Riaz, a member of the Selection Committee, mentioned that the fitness of Haris Rauf, Azam Khan, and Rizwan has improved, expressing hope that all three players will be available for the Ireland Cup series.

Additionally, the squad includes key players such as Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Usman Khan for the series against England and Ireland.

Looking ahead, the announcement for the 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup, scheduled to begin in June in America and the West Indies, will be made after the first T20 match against England.

The selection of the squad reflects a balanced mix of experienced players and promising talents, aiming to strengthen Pakistan’s performance in the upcoming series. With the inclusion of seasoned campaigners and the return of some notable names, the team is poised to put up a competitive display against Ireland and England.