Senate Becomes Inactive for the First Time in Country’s History

According to the Election Commission, the Senate has become inactive for the first time in the country’s history, following the retirement of 52 senators who were elected in 2018. Subsequently, elections will be held for 48 seats.

Among the retired senators are prominent figures such as Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani, Deputy Chairman Mirza Afridi, Leader of the House Shibli Faraz, Leader of the Opposition Dr. Shahzad Waseem, and Senator Raza Rabbani.

The retired senators represent various political parties, including 13 from PML-N, 12 from PPP, 8 from PTI, 6 from BAP, 2 each from JUI-F, MQM, and NP, and 1 each from JI, MMA, and PML-F.

With the retirement of Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani and Deputy Chairman Senate Mirza Afridi, the positions of Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Senate are now vacant.

Due to the absence of a Senate speaker as per the Senate rules, there is currently no head of the Senate.

There was no consensus on amending the Senate rules to grant the Chairman of the Senate speaker-like powers.

It is noteworthy that the Election Commission has announced that Senate elections will be held on April 2nd.